Graphic Design, Painting and Dog Shows

I’ve been busy lately finishing up projects in the graphic design part of my life. In the last week I’ve finished the logo for the 2010 English Springer Spaniel Field Trial Association (ESSFTA) National Specialty. The specialty will be held in Albany Oregon in the fall of 2010. The merchandise, however, starts being sold at the 2009 specialty. As soon as they select the logo (I delivered two) I will post it here.

I’ve also been working on a logo for a friend’s new company Luminescent, LLC. a company specializing in custom architectural lighting and LED lighting. They will also have a subsidiary called Glo-Rack. A company specializing in LED lit shelving units. More links and the logo once they are up and running.

In my “spare” time I’ve been working on an abstract painting of the Palouse Hills of Washington, It is a bold, colorful painting. I’m fairly sure I’m finished… just need to “percolate” it for a few days.

It is the first time I’ve used clayboard as a support (canvas). I’m still debating on how I feel about it. On one hand, it conveniently thin, and a hard surface to work on. But it seems to absorb paint my faster then canvas, and creates almost a dry paint technique. I also feel that paint doesn’t “stand up” on it, like on canvas. It seems to have self-leveling aspect to it. The paint also has an extra sheen to it. I am going to have to paint a mat varnish on the painting to cut the glare of the acrylics. With an art light shining on it, parts of the painting simply disappear in the glare.

After I make up my mind that it is finished, I’ll post a photo.

Leave a Reply

