Daily Inspiration

Last Thursday I started a new exercise for daily inspiration. Bringing art and/or the artistic process into my life everyday. My challenge to myself and other friends who are interested is to take at least one photo a day without using any editing software tools/software or filters. A simple point and shoot exercise. I’m using my iPhone exclusively. My goal is to use the camera as a tool, not as the artistic process. Finding the art with my eye and only capturing it with the camera.

Why just point and shoot? While a love using Photoshop, I also feel that it mutes a great deal of artistic endeavor by making it to easy to take a so-so photograph and then edit it to something special. My goal is to see art in everyday things, re-teach myself to look at something with an artistic eye. Find joy in the little things.

If you’d like to follow along or try it yourself, I’m posting on mine my Flickr account. Leave a comment if you’d like to join in and where you’ll be posting.

UPDATE: I’ve created a community page on Facebook where you can follow along or participate.

The photo below was taken on Sunday, August 22, 2010 at Mother’s Bistro and Bar in downtown Portland, Oregon… yummy

One Response to “Daily Inspiration”

  1. How wonderful. I also try to recognize beauty in everyday things. I tend to do this in my garden. I love your food picture. A picture is worth 1000 words.

    I don’t use Flickr, so I’ll just wait for your next post.

    http://www.QuintessenceCreations.com

Leave a Reply

