Exploring Art… Fiber Art

The fine art of fiber art uses textiles (i.e. fabric, yarn, fibers, felt) in the piece. The art can be the creation of the fiber, as well as, using fiber with other mediums. A versatile array of techniques can be used to create a piece of art: spinning, quilting, weaving, lace tatting, assemblage, etc.

The history of fiber art is complicated. Textiles have been a fundamental part of humanity since the beginning of civilization. But the question of when does it change from functional to artistic remains. So who defines the medium as art? The artist, the audience, the curator, etc.

It is important that fiber art be kept out of direct sunlight and/or protected behind UV glass if possible.

Below are some wonderful original fiber arts. I am going to focus on art pieces that would be displayed in your home, not wearable art. As with all of my featured art/artists these are pieces I would purchase for myself or as a gift.

  • Flow by Katherine Sands

15 Responses to “Exploring Art… Fiber Art”

  1. really beautiful selection!!

  2. What a lovely collection …. thank you so much for including my Dreams. 🙂

  3. Thanks for including my Asian Birds in your lovely list. You he picked many of my favorites as well.
    Barbara Harms

    AsianArtAndQuilts

  4. Beautiful, beautiful! I think they are ALL GORGEOUS. Many thanks to you for putting it together so nicely. Have a great weekend!

  5. Marvelous Kelly! Wow, I am so inspired by all of these pieces–it makes me realize how much we can do with fiber, which I wouldn’t really have thought of before!

  6. I appreciate your including my painting!
    These are beautiful inspiring works.
    I love fiber in all its creative aspects.

  7. This is very nice…thanks for including my work in your collection!

  8. What a wonderful collection of the many different forms of fiber art. Thank you for including one of my art quilts.

  9. […] p://kellyjcallahan.wordpress.com/2011/03/25/exploring-art-fiber-art/#comment-276 […]

  10. Thanks for including my quilt in your blog – and for helping to raise awareness of textiles as art.

  11. Wow, this is an amazing collection of fiber art work. I love them all and am so happy to be included!! Thank you!

  12. A beautiful selection of textile art. I’m grateful to be in such good company. Thank you so much!

  13. What a beautiful blog this is. I’m so impressed with your amazing content, just lovely.
    Thank you for including my art quilt on such a lovely selection of textile art and on your beautiful blog.

  14. Stitches and Sticks Says:

    Love your work

  15. Thanks for showcasing my work here. Just an FYI, Flow was purchased at a solo show in 2011.

Leave a Reply

