Helpful Hints for Selling Your Art Online… Organization

For the past 6 weeks I’ve been exploring various mediums of art and types of photography. During this time I’ve run into a myriad of problems finding pieces to feature, or information about art or the artist. This series post is going to list some helpful hints for those wanting to sell online. Some of these hints seem to be a “well duh” hint. But it’s surprising how many people don’t do these simple things.

Everything Should Have A Place!

I admit it, it’s a pet peeve of mine. I can’t stand unorganized websites. They drive me crazy. Since I have the attention span of a gnat when I’m looking at shops I don’t want to have to through a pages of unrelated stuff. Nothing will get me off a site faster then looking for sub-categories and not finding them.

Not only will organizing your shop, blog or website into categories help potential customers, it will also help you. If you have defined categories for your content, it makes it easier to list them, tag them, and search for them. I do this is all of my shops (Etsy, CafePress, etc.) and my blog. My files on my computer are organized in the same way as the websites. This is especially important in shops where there is a lot of merchandise. My CafePress site has more then 200 designs, a true nightmare if it weren’t organized.

I personally separate my artwork by original, reproduction, and ACEOs. I’ve seen sites that are organized by subject, size, medium, etc. Whatever helps your seller find your creations.

Don’t rely on search engines. Some engines will search an entire site, not necessarily just your gallery, store, etc. And every site seems to differ in their search engines. Flickr has recently changed their search engine priorities; if you don’t specifically request the user’s gallery it will search the entire site.

I would also suggest having separate shops for separate types of merchandise. If you sell vintage, as well as, artwork; have two separate sites. Not only do you look more organized, but it customers don’t have to wade through things they aren’t interested it.

Be organized, look professional.

Leave a Reply

