Recent Copyright Violation

This past weekend I came across a copyright violation of my work. This angers and frustrates me to no end, as it does many an artist. Not only is it pure laziness on the behalf of the thief, but it makes it very difficult for me to do online business. I have only select vendors that I use, because it is too easy to lose control of who is using the artwork.

Due to this unfortunate event I have pulled all of my illustrations from my Facebook fan page. While Facebook was very responsive in removing the graphics from the offenders site, it does nothing to protect my images from download. This is very frustrating, because of the contest I’m currently trying to run.

I have moved all of my designs to a Wry Toast Flickr account, where I have disabled the downloading of my images. I know that this won’t stop someone who is determined, but at least it makes it a little more difficult.

All of the Wry Toast designs can now be found there. Designs are grouped by type. The dog breed designs are grouped by breed group (Herding, Hound, Non-sporting, Sporting, Terriers, Toys, Working). There are many breeds in the Dogs in Words designs that are not recognized by the AKC, but are recognized by the FCI. If you are looking for a specific breed and can’t find it, please contact me at WryToastDesign [at] gmail [dot] com.

Please remember (for me and other artists): using my designs without my permission is stealing pure and simple. Regardless of whether the copyright notification is present, the piece is copyrighted by law. This includes reproduction, redistribution, reselling  or facsimile or derivatives of the original piece. In other words, it doesn’t matter that I don’t sell my illustrations as designs in crystals, you can’t either.

2 Responses to “Recent Copyright Violation”

  1. I am wondering if I can use your ‘Sheltie Jumping’ design as a base for a logo. My plan is to use a dog picture, change some of the outline, color it, and add it to a background. Would that be alright with you? I will leave your watermark on the logo. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

