Long Time Gone

It’s been over a year and half since I’ve posted anything on my blog. And what a strange time it’s been. There have been numerous ups and downs in that time. 

Soon after my last update I was laid off of my job of over 16 years. It was at once a relief and a devastating blow. Working for a large corporation that is in severe financial distress is not at all fun. So it was a relief to be laid off, especially since I feel that the company might still implode. But it was also devastating, at my age, finding new employment is almost impossible. In the last year and a half I’ve had 2 phone interviews and 1 in-person interview. Unfortunately I’m over qualified for most graphic design jobs out there. And under qualified for anything else. 

On the positive side, I’ve had plenty of time to work on other projects. One of them is my Chance Upon Art project. Last January I started this project as a way to give to the community while giving myself motivation to paint, try different media, and work on my artistic side. I also committed to doing a pay it forward project with 5 Facebook friends. I created five different pieces for them, and all they had to do was pay it forward themselves.

I spent most of the spring and summer working on our property. When we purchased our new home two years ago, it had been empty for the better part of a year and a half. While the lawn had been kept up, the blackberries had taken over a lot of the wooded areas. When I wasn’t chopping blackberries and cleaning wooded areas, I created the first flower bed this place has ever had. It was a lot of fun figuring out what to plant, what would grow and do well. And a lot of sweat in digging up sod, removing an unused satellite disk, digging holes, etc.

The Wry Toast Designs Etsy shop continues to do well. I’ve added lots of new designs and a couple more design lines (more in a later post).

Hopefully I can keep the motivation going to keep blogging. There will be follow up posts on Chance Upon Art, my Pay It Forward project, etc. Keep tuned.

Leave a Reply

